Minutes of the Nineteenth Annual General Meeting

1. The Nineteenth Annual General Meeting of the Wildfowl Trust was held at the Royal Society of Arts, John Adam Street, London, W.C.2, on Thursday, 13th May, 1966, at 5.00 p.m.

2. The following Officers and Members of Council and 29 Members were present:

His Grace the Duke of Norfolk, K.G., P.C., G.C.V.O., President.

Guy Benson, Esq., Hon. Treasurer. Michael Crichton, Esq., O.B.E.

J. O. Death, Esq.

Captain J. A. Fergusson-Cuninghame. G. M. Jolliffe, Esq., F.L.A.S.

Peter Scott, Esq., C.B.E., D.S.C., LL.D., Hon. Director.

Dr. G. W. Storey. Miss P. Talbot-Ponsonby.

Major General C. B. Wainwright, C.B. The Hon. Vincent Weir.

J. P. Williams, Esq.

3. Apologies for absence were received from the following Officers and Members of Council, and thirty-nine Members:

His Grace the Duke of Beaufort, K.G., P.C., G.C.V.O.

The Rt. Hon. the Earl of Mansfield, J.P. General Sir Gerald Lathbury, G.C.B., D.S.O., M.B.E.

Dr. Bruce Campbell.

Professor J. E. Harris, C.B.E., F.R.S.

Sir Percy Lister, Kt.

Christopher Marler, Esq.

K. Miller Jones, Esq.

Sir Landsborough Thomson, C.B., O.B.E.

4. The Minutes of the Eighteenth Annual General Meeting, circularised with the Agenda, were accepted and signed by the Chairman.

5. The Hon. Director gave an account of the year's activities at Slimbridge and Peakirk, after which he moved the adoption of the Report of Council which was seconded by Dr. S. K. Eltringham and carried unanimously.

6. The Hon. Treasurer moved the adoption of the accounts for the year ending 31st December, 1965. The motion was seconded by Mr. F. W. Perowne and carried unanimously.

7. The Hon. Director proposed the following amendments to the Rules of the Wildfowl Trust:

Rule 6 (1): Delete from "The Annual" in line 10 to the end, and substitute: "The annual subscription payable by or on behalf of Gosling Members shall be for those joining on or before 12th May, 1966, seven shillings and sixpence per annum and for those joining after 12th May, 1966, twelve shillings and sixpence per annum."

Mr. Crichton seconded this amendment which was carried unanimously.

Rule 5 (4) (vi): Delete from "The Council" in lines 18 and 19 to "this privilege" in line 22, and substitute: "(vii) The Council shall have the power to elect as Parish Members such persons as it may from time to time approve for this privilege who are resident in the parishes of Slimbridge or Peakirk or in such other parishes as it may determine."

Mr. G. M. Jolliffe seconded this amendment which was carried unanimously.

8. The following elected Councillors retired under Rule 13 (1), and were not elegible for re-election:

Michael Crichton, Esq., O.B.E.

Christopher Marler, Esq.

E. A. Maxwell, Esq.

J. P. Williams, Esq.

In accordance with Rule 7 (6) the following Council nominees were elected without vote:

G. R. Askew, Esq.

Dr. Bruce Campbell.

J. O. Death, Esq.

Professor J. E. Harris, C.B.E., F.R.S. the proposal being made by Dr. S. K. Eltringham and seconded by Mr. Christopher Sellick with unanimous approval of the meeting.

9. The election of officers proposed en bloc by Major General C. B. Wainwright, C.B., and seconded by Mr. J. O. Death, received unanimous approval of the meeting:

President: His Grace the Duke of Norfolk, K.G., P.C., G.C.V.O.

Vice-Presidents: Sir Percy Lister, Kt. Captain R. G. W. Berkeley

The Rt. Hon. the Lord Howick of

Glendale, G.C.M.G., K.C.V.O. General Sir Gerald Lathbury, G.C.B., D.S.O., M.B.E.

Sir Isaac Wolfson, Bt., F.R.S., F.R.C.P., D.C.L.

Trustees: His Grace The Duke of Beaufort, K.G., P.C., G.C.V.O.

The Earl of Mansfield, J.P.

John Berkeley, Esq., J.P.

H. H. Davis, Esq.

Hon. Director: Peter Scott, Esq., C.B.E., D.S.C., LL.D.

Hon. Treasurer: Guy Benson, Esq.

10. The Hon. Treasurer proposed that Messrs. S. J. Dudbridge and Sons of Stroud, Gloucestershire, should be reappointed Auditors to the Wildfowl Trust for the ensuing year pursuant to Rule 19 (1). Captain J. A. Fergusson-Cuninghame seconded the proposition which was carried unanimously.

11. Mr. Christopher Sellick asked whether the Council would consider distributing Hawaiian Geese to private collectors in Britain, now that the reestablishment of a flock in the wild in Maui seemed assured of success.

The Hon. Director replied that the suggestion would certainly be given consideration, although the Maui project required further stock, and the depleted population at Slimbridge needed replenishing. Mr. Scott drew attention to the fact that the progeny of the Hawaiian Geese at Slimbridge were subject to an agreement, and were not available for sale. However, it might be possible to lend pairs on an agreement similar to the one drawn up with European zoos.

12. Mr. F. W. Perowne suggested that the date of future Annual General Meetings and Dinners should coincide with the Chelsea Flower Show; he suggested that the attendance at the A.G.M. would thus benefit. Council undertook to consider the proposal.

13. Business being concluded, the meeting was closed by the Chairman. Mr. Scott gave a short talk about his recent visit to the Antarctic illustrated with slides.

Obituary

The Council has learned with regret of the deaths of the following Members and Associates, notified since March, 1966:-

Mrs. J. M. Aas Mrs. J. W. Awdry Sir Philip Manson Bahr Mrs. A. D. Hiatt Baker Air Chief Marshall Sir Arthur Barratt Crawford Bassingham A. D. Bates S. Boddy Mrs. E. Brabazon Mrs. E. Brassey C. Castle Miss M. A. V. Cochran S. H. Combe Sir John Conybeare Sir Arthur Curtis A. W. S. Dean Dr. Mary G. H. Dickson Mrs. Maureen Ferguson Mrs. H. W. Fitzwilliams Miss Eva Mary Godman Brigadier C. E. Gray Mrs. E. F. Hall J. E. Harris F. T. Hearle Keith Heughan Major A. E. Hopkins R. C. Hopwood C. W. Janson Mrs. H. S. Jones Sir Norman Kendal Miss A. Kenrick Major A. P. Lambert R. J. B. Leney

The Earl of Lisburne D. H. Lloyd G. P. Lloyd H. W. McComas A. S. MacPherson Dr. Margaret Mitchell A. F. Moody Miss E. Morray Brigadier C. E. Morrison J. B. Mulligan Colonel G. R. Newton W. H. Nicholls Mrs. E. M. Pilcher Mr. B. V. Ramanjulu Lt.-Col. Niall Rankin **Baroness** Ravensdale Sir George Reid Mrs. F. St. George Captain R. A. Sparrow Mrs. M. W. Steward Canon Thomas Miss D. M. Verini Miss Dorothy E. Viney F. H. Wallace Miss G. Welbourn His Grace the Duke of Westminster Mrs. G. C. Wilkins E. Williams J. J. Hedley Willis C. A. Wingfield Major J. A. R. Wise Dr. W. R. Wooldridge